The National Archives
Search The National Archives
Advanced search
   
 

Abbey and graveyard, 1903. Cat ref: COPY1/465Local History - your guide to resources

 
 
 
 

Starting local history research

Local history is about people, places and communities. Its scope is wide, embracing a range of different interests. Each town and neighbourhood in Britain has its own story to tell. Sometimes the great events of history will have affected the community, sometimes the community will have generated its own fascinating dramas. The Local historian uses research to build up a picture of a place, and the people in it, through the ages.

These pages provide a brief introduction to useful sources for local history. They also contain links to organisations that might help you with your research.

 
     
 

Introduction

The best place to begin local history research is often in the area you are interested in. You will find most counties, unitary authorities and some large towns maintain either a record office, an archive service or a local studies library. For the purposes of this page when we refer to a record office we mean all of the above. Use the ARCHON Directory to find out what services are available in your area.

Record offices contain a vast array of records relating to their area, for example parish and local government records, maps, manorial documents, estate papers, enclosure awards, tithes, records of local businesses, societies and groups, legal records, diaries of individuals, census returns, visual and oral history material and newspapers.

Record offices very often publish their own guides to research topics and specific types of record in their possession. They also have information relating to local history societies and their publications and the availability of local history courses.

Although much of your research will take place in the local area, it is important to know that The National Archives holds information that will be useful. Records of interest may include those relating to collieries, and canals, docks and shipping companies. Other major groups of interest include enclosure and tithe papers and maps, tax assessments and assize court records. As there is no topographical index to the records at The National Archives, some preliminary research will be needed to identify what types of records will be relevant to your research and which government department would have generated the records. For example records for the pre-nationalised railway companies are held in the series RAIL. The National Archives also provides a number of useful research guides, especially English Local History: a note for beginners. Census and probate material is available on microfilm at the Family Records CentreExternal website - link opens in a new window.

Sources for local history

This following summaries provide a guide to the types of material available for the study of local history. It is by no means an exhaustive guide, but aims to highlight some of the most useful of the many sources of information available.

Maps and plans

Local government and parish records

Manorial records

Records of landed estates

Local businesses and other organisations

Census returns

Primary printed sources

 

Using the National Register of Archives

Using the Manorial Documents Register

Using the ARCHON directory

 

Bibliography

 
  Return to guide